Endo, Meso, Ecto. The Morphs.

img_2220Recently I started reading a book called Running & Being by Dr. George Sheehan, as part of my read a new book every two weeks this year. It’s actually really good and I’ll probably do a separate blog post for it when I’m done. It’s caused me to really seriously reflect in my fitness journey and what I want and need from life itself. Needless to say it’s pretty interesting.

However, I did find a really cool part of the book that actually made me do some research. In the book Sheehan talks about how your body correlates with your personality and a Doctor named William Sheldon wrote something along the lines of “Function follows structure.” This means that the body build you have directly be related to your personality. I was curious so I did google and found that a lot of people call B.S. on it. The basic break down is in three categories or body types as follows:

  • Ectomorphs, are long, thin, and generally have a smaller build bone and joint wise. This body type has a hard time building muscle and/or gaining weight. This type can eat whatever they want, in however many servings.
  • Mesomorphs, narrow waist, hour-glass shape, longer limbs and torso. This body type can have an easy time gaining muscle and/or weight but needs to work to maintain it or fat can easily “creep” on. Can within reason eat whatever they want, but need to be careful about servings.
  • Endomorphs, hips are usually wider than shoulders, bottom heavy, blocky, and usually have shorter limbs. This body type has a hard time losing weight especially around the midsection. Training can become really tricky for this body type without having the proper diet, fat is easily put on.

This didn’t make me stop though, in the fitness world especially everyone has their own opinions and it’s part of life and your own journey when you decide which ones you relate with or don’t. So I decided to take the test. Right here is the test from bodybuilding.com. There’s a few others out there you’re welcome to take.

For my results after taking a few tests and reading about the types I got most similarities to…mesomorph! This was actually a huge surprise because I have a little bit of body dysmorphia, or the issue with seeing my body as it is. I always think I’m bigger than what I am. I guess this comes from always being a size 15/16 and going to a size 8. I’m working on that though. So this test sort of opened my eyes. I found what was said of the body type to be true. I now have an easier time losing weight within a few weeks, since I’ve cleaned up my diet. I can build muscle really fast, I can train for long periods of time without issue, and if I slack for a few weeks weight creeps back on. However, all in all it’s generally accurate for me.

So personality wise it tends to fit me as well too, I’m not overly sensitive (my husband might argue this point), doesn’t have a problem doing tough physical activities, highly competitive, and dominant. If that’s not fitting I don’t know what is. The only thing I don’t agree with is a few sites say they’re outgoing. I CAN be outgoing but I prefer to be alone, I’m more of an introvert/observer. Arnold Schwarzenegger, Muhammed Ali, and even Angela Bassett (Madame LaLaurie from AHS season 3 holla), are all mesomorphs, even including Dr. George Sheehan the guy that wrote this book.

With all this being said what body type did you get? Do you agree with it? If not why? As a side note I’m not a doctor (yet ha ha), this was all my own research over various sites and what I came to the conclusion of. You should always consult with your doctor if you have ANY issues with your weight. All bodies are beautiful no matter the morph.

Leave a comment